CogSleep, the NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence to Optimise Sleep in Brain Ageing and Neurodegeneration is delighted to announce the 2021 recipients of the CogSleep Postdoctoral Research Fellowships.


Research fellowships up to the value of $50,000 (0.5FTE, level A postdoctoral fellow) were available for outstanding researchers with expertise in core fields relevant to CogSleep’s research themes. It was expected that successful candidates would be supported by their host institution in a complementary area in the sleep and ageing field and ideally work with multiple chief investigators. The duration of the fellowship is one year, with the expectation that the fellow will be working towards attracting independent funding at the completion of the fellowship.


We are delighted to announce the following CogSleep Postdoctoral Research Fellows for 2021:
  • Dexiao Kong, University of Sydney – Delineating the neural basis and prognostic value of altered nocturnal heart rate variability in people at risk of dementia.
  • Dr Prerna Varma, Monash University – A personalised digital sleep and circadian management tool to improve cognition in older shift workers.
  • Dr Jade Murray, Monash University – Using Mendelian Randomisation methods to understand whether circadian disruption is causally related to dementia.
  • Dr Jessica Manousakis, Monash University – Ocular predictors of sleep and driving in older adults with cognitive complaints.
  • Dr Julia Chapman, University of Sydney – Novel biomarkers to understand the links between sleep and neurodegeneration in at-risk populations.


Email to join the mailing list to receive information on future funding opportunities.