The NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence to Optimise Sleep in Brain Ageing and Neurodegeneration (CogSleep) is delighted to announce the 2021 recipients of the Postgraduate Research Scholarships. This scholarship provides an annual stipend equivalent to half of the minimum Research Training Program (RTP) stipend rate.

The scholarship is tenable for up to three years for a PhD student, and up to two years for a master’s by research student, subject to satisfactory academic performance.

CogSleep Postgraduate Research Scholarships are open to all who are currently enrolled or have an unconditional offer of admission for full-time studies in a master’s by research or PhD within the Faculty of Science, are willing to undertake research in the area of sleep and circadian science, and also hold an honours or master’s degree in a related field with a substantial research component, or equivalent.

Four scholarship types were offered in this round:

  • One unrestricted – open to any CogSleep style project
  • One targeted digital health/technology scholarship
  • One targeted biofluids and biomarkers scholarship
  • One targeted to conduct sleep experiments within the AU-ARROW cohort
We are delighted to announce the following CogSleep HDR Scholarship winners for 2021:
  • Hamish Mundell, University of Sydney – The combined influence of sleep and APOE4 on dementia: A comprehensive analysis of association and mechanism.
  • Emma Stumbles, Woolcock Institute – Age and sleep apnoea related changes in sleep quantitative EEG brain activity and longitudinal relationship to cognitive function.
  • Arina Ridha, Woolcock Institute – Temporal association between regional sleep spindles and slow waves during NREM sleep in older adults with and without MCI.
  • Teha Bahadur Pun, University of Sydney – Light to improve sleep, circadian rhythms, cognition and daytime alertness.
Email to join the mailing list to receive information on future funding opportunities.